Skip to main content

Is this time of year harder than it is supposed to be? Ways to get support over the holidays

The Denning Center — counseling and accelerated resolution therapy

The research

Every published study of Accelerated Resolution Therapy, summarized

What has actually been published on ART, grouped by how strong each kind of study is, with the limits of each one stated next to its findings.

As of September 2026, two randomized controlled trials of Accelerated Resolution Therapy (ART) have published results: a 57-person trial in US service members and veterans (2013) and a 54-person trial in older adults grieving a family member (2020). Everything else is open trials without a comparison group, case reports, reviews and commentaries. Nearly all of it comes from researchers connected to ART’s developer or to the research program at the University of South Florida (USF). The only systematic review, published in 2024, concluded that ART “shows some promise” but that “more high-quality studies are needed.”

This page lists every study we could find, grouped by type, with what each one found and what it cannot tell you. It is meant to be read alongside what the treatment guidelines say about ART and the plain-English walk-through of the 2013 randomized trial.

How to read this evidence

Not all studies carry the same weight. A few questions sort them quickly.

Randomized controlled trial (RCT)
People are assigned by chance to ART or to a comparison condition. This is the strongest design for asking whether a treatment caused an improvement, because the groups start out alike.
What the comparison was
Beating a wait-list (no treatment yet) is a lower bar than beating an “attention control” (time with a professional but no therapy), which is a lower bar again than beating another proven therapy. No published trial has compared ART with a first-line trauma therapy.
Open (uncontrolled) trial or cohort
Everyone gets ART and symptoms are measured before and after. Improvement is real information, but without a comparison group it cannot be separated from time, attention, or people starting treatment when they feel worst.
Case report or case series
A description of one or a handful of people. Useful for ideas, not conclusions.
Self-report vs clinician-rated
Almost every ART study measured PTSD with a questionnaire the participant fills in (the PCL). Major guidelines give more weight to a structured interview by a trained assessor. This gap is the stated reason the VA/DoD guideline could not recommend for or against ART.
Completers vs everyone who started
Results counted only among people who finished treatment look better than results counted across everyone who began. Many ART figures are completer-only.
Developer connection
ART was developed in 2008 by Laney Rosenzweig, MS, LMFT, who co-authored many of the studies. Other authors have disclosed training clinicians for, or advising, ART organizations. That does not make the findings wrong. It does mean independent replication is still missing.

Small samples matter too. With 20 or 50 people, a single unusual result can move an average a long way, and rare side effects may simply not show up.

Randomized controlled trials

Only two randomized trials of ART have reported results, and both came from the developer-linked research network. Neither compared ART with another trauma therapy. Several secondary papers reuse data from these same two trials, so they add detail rather than new evidence.

Randomized trials of ART with published results
StudyDesign & whoNWhat it foundLimits
Kip et al. 2013, Military MedicineART vs an attention control (two 1-hour career or fitness sessions), with crossover to ART allowed afterwards. US service members and veterans with combat-related PTSD symptoms; 68% had had PTSD treatment before.57PTSD, depression, anxiety and trauma-related guilt fell significantly more with ART. ART was delivered in an average of 3.7 sessions; 94% completed.Self-report PTSD measure only. Control was not a therapy and was shorter than ART. Crossover ended long-term comparison. Rosenzweig was a co-author. Full explainer.
Kip et al. 2014, European Journal of PsychotraumatologySecondary analysis of the 2013 trial, looking at pain.45Pain Outcomes Questionnaire scores fell 16.9 points with ART vs 0.7 in the control group.Same trial, not a new one. Pain-related fear rose significantly more with ART, and the difference in pain intensity was not significant (per the 2015 SAMHSA registry review).
Buck et al. 2020, American Journal of Hospice & Palliative MedicineART vs wait-list. Bereaved hospice family caregivers aged 60 and over (85% women, 93% white). Each was scheduled for 4 ART sessions.54Complicated grief scores fell 22.8 points with ART vs 4.3 on the wait-list. PTSD and depression symptoms also fell.Wait-list control. Rated “high risk of bias” in the 2024 systematic review. Narrow sample. Authors include an IS-ART board member and a paid IS-ART trainer, as disclosed.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

IS-ART is the International Society of Accelerated Resolution Therapy, which certifies ART clinicians.

Six further papers from the grief trial report quality of life, expectations, experiences of loss, and problems with collecting saliva cortisol samples. They add no new efficacy evidence beyond quality of life, and all come from the same research team:

  • Mason et al. 2022, Journal of Palliative Medicine: quality of life, 27 participants.
  • Mason et al. 2022, Journal of Gerontological Nursing: quality of life, mixed methods.
  • Mason et al. 2022, Death Studies: quality-of-life themes.
  • Buck et al. 2022, Health & Social Care in the Community: treatment expectancy, 29 participants.
  • Buck et al. 2022, Western Journal of Nursing Research: loss within couples, 29 participants.
  • Bell et al. 2021, Clinical Nursing Research: difficulties measuring salivary cortisol, 54 participants.

Open trials and cohort studies: PTSD

These studies gave everyone ART and measured change. They show that symptom scores fell among people who received ART, and they give a picture of completion rates and session counts. Without a comparison group, they cannot show that ART caused the change.

Uncontrolled and observational studies of ART for PTSD
StudyDesign & whoNWhat it foundLimits
Kip et al. 2012, Behavioral SciencesOpen cohort. Adults in the Tampa Bay area, mostly civilian, 77% women.80Average PCL score 54.5 before, 31.2 after, 30.0 at 2 months. 66 of 80 completed, in a median of 3 sessions. No serious adverse events related to treatment.No control group. Four-month data were collected but not reported, per the 2024 review.
Kip et al. 2013, Frontiers in PsychiatryOpen cohort. Adults with both PTSD and depression symptoms, a subgroup of the 2012 study.28 analyzed (35 enrolled)PCL fell 29.6 points after treatment and 31.4 at 4 months; depression (CES-D) fell 20.6 points. Mean 3.7 sessions.Same participants as the 2012 study. No control. Small.
Kip et al. 2015, Military MedicinePooled data from two earlier studies, comparing civilians with military adults.113 (62 civilian, 51 military)PCL 53.2 to 30.2 (civilian) and 56.0 to 40.5 (military); the difference between groups was not significant after adjustment. Women with sexual trauma improved about 22 points in both groups.Reuses earlier participants. Observational.
Kip et al. 2016, Nursing OutlookNonrandomized comparison of veterans living in a homeless shelter and veterans in the community.117 (23 homeless, 94 community)Completion 52.2% (homeless) vs 81.9% (community). PTSD reductions described as substantial. Completers averaged 4 sessions.Nonrandomized, small homeless group, high dropout among homeless veterans.
Pang et al. 2023, Military MedicineObservational cohort of veterans and service members, grouped by prior PTSD treatment (none, medication only, CPT or PE, other).148106 (71.6%) completed, in a mean of 3.5 sessions. Large before-and-after changes in every group, including people who had already had CPT or prolonged exposure.No control group. 95% men. Only 55 people gave 6-month data. Reported response figures are for completers.
Kip et al. 2019, Counselling and Psychotherapy Research (not in PubMed)Review plus new subgroup analyses of existing cohorts: traumatic brain injury (202) and Special Operations Forces (141, of whom 25 were SOF).202 / 141Response counted across everyone who started was broadly similar with or without mild TBI, lower with moderate to severe TBI, and similar for SOF and non-SOF. About 4 sessions.Secondary analyses of existing data. “Response” defined by self-report.
Rossiter et al. 2017, Annals of Psychiatry and Mental Health (not in PubMed)Feasibility study. Women veterans with PTSD after military sexual trauma; 3 to 5 sessions.5 completed (6 enrolled)Large before-and-after drop in PCL-M scores, as reported in the 2024 systematic review.Five people, no follow-up, rated “poor” quality in the review. We have not read the original paper.
Kip et al. 2016, Alternative and Complementary Therapies (not in PubMed)Pilot study of ART for chronic, treatment-resistant neuropathic pain.Not verifiedWe could not open this paper, so its size and results are not summarized here.Unknown. Developer co-authored.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

PCL is the PTSD Checklist, a self-report questionnaire; PCL-M and PCL-C are its military and civilian versions. Two unpublished dissertations (Hardwick 2017; Witt 2019) are cited in the 2024 review but are not peer-reviewed and are not included here.

Open trials and cohort studies: other problems

Outside PTSD, the published work is mostly about cancer-related distress. One study here, the Calgary chart review, is one of only two outcome studies we found with no apparent link to the ART developer network (the other is a four-person OCD study from Iran, listed below).

Uncontrolled studies of ART outside PTSD
StudyDesign & whoNWhat it foundLimits
Tofthagen et al. 2025, Psycho-OncologySingle-group pilot at Mayo Clinic. Cancer survivors; 5 ART sessions.20Significant drops in post-traumatic stress, cancer distress, anxiety and depression, still present at 30 days.No control group; 30-day follow-up only. Authors worked with the USF ART research group on earlier trials.
Rhudy et al. 2025, Clinical Nursing ResearchInterviews with participants from the pilot above.12Themes included that ART felt different from previous therapy.Qualitative only; no outcome data.
Feldstain et al. 2026, Counselling and Psychotherapy Research (not in PubMed)Retrospective chart review in Calgary comparing single sessions of ART with single sessions of talk therapy in cancer care.63 (33 ART, 30 talk)Authors report ART gave “either equivalent or superior symptom relief compared to TALK in a single session.”Not randomized, looked back at routine records, single sessions only. Appears independent of the developer network.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Case reports and very small studies

Case reports describe what happened for one or a few people. They are where claims about single-session results, OCD, acute stress and young people come from, and they cannot support those claims on their own.

Case reports, case series and single-case designs
StudyDesign & whoNWhat it foundLimits
Kip et al. 2014, Military MedicineCase report plus a theoretical description of ART for military PTSD.1Describes treatment in 2 sessions and the protocol as “2 to 5 sessions and without homework.”One person. Developer co-authored.
Toukolehto et al. 2020, Military MedicineRetrospective case series. Deployed US Army soldiers given one ART-based session within 96 hours of a traumatic death.8Rapid improvement, reported as sustained at 1 year.No control, looked back at records, modified single-session intervention. One author later became an ART trainer.
Schimmels & Waits 2019, Military MedicineTwo case studies of ART for obsessive-compulsive disorder (a correction was later published).2Symptom trends judged by visual inspection.Two people; no statistics.
Hosseini et al. 2024, Journal of Psychological Science (Iran; not in PubMed)Single-subject multiple-baseline study of ART for OCD, with 6-week follow-up.4Tested an ART protocol on OCD symptoms; we have not reviewed its detailed results.Four people. Appears independent.
Tofthagen et al. 2022, OmegaCase discussions: complicated grief with PTSD.2Illustrative descriptions.Two people. Developer network.
Buck et al. 2019, Innovation in Aging (conference abstract)Two case studies of ART for complicated grief in older adults.2Conference abstract only.Not a full peer-reviewed paper.
Tofthagen et al. 2025, Journal of Palliative MedicineTwo cancer patients with insomnia; one ART session each.2Sleep improved in both.Two people.
McMillan & Cedermark 2025, Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry (poster abstract)Conference poster on ART in children and adolescents.Not verifiedWe could not open the abstract, so its design and findings are unknown.Not a full peer-reviewed paper. There is no published full study of ART in anyone under 18.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Reviews, evidence briefs and commentaries

The independent ones, including the 2024 systematic review and a 2019 Defense Department evidence brief, reach cautious conclusions. The more enthusiastic pieces are written by people involved in developing, researching or teaching ART.

Reviews and commentaries on ART
PaperTypeScopeKey pointLimits / connection
Storey, Marriott & Rash 2024, PLOS Mental HealthSystematic review5 studies; 337 enrolled, 250 completedNo meta-analysis was possible. Only one study was rated good quality. Dropout ran from 7% to 36%. It is not known which parts of ART drive the results. ART “shows some promise … however, more high-quality studies are needed.”Independent: none of the reviewers were trained in ART.
Defense Health Agency, Psychological Health Center of Excellence 2019Evidence briefART for PTSD“The current state of the evidence base is not mature enough to recommend ART as a front-line treatment for PTSD in the MHS.” No Cochrane or AHRQ reviews of ART were found.Independent government review.
Waits, Marumoto & Weaver 2017, Current Psychiatry ReportsNarrative reviewResearch to 2017The research is “limited, primarily consisting of one randomized, controlled trial (RCT) with 57 subjects and two large cohort studies.” Calls for high-quality RCTs.Lead author later became an ART trainer. Includes one anecdotal case of a 14-year-old.
Kip & Diamond 2018, Military MedicineCommentaryPooled summary of the authors’ own 4 studies (291 people)Argues for ART’s use in VA and DoD settings. 81.4% completed; mean 3.9 sessions.Advocacy piece pooling the authors’ own studies; outcome figures are for completers.
Finnegan et al. 2016, Journal of the Royal Army Medical CorpsNarrative reviewART for PTSDDescribes ART as providing “fast and lasting resolution.”Advocacy language, not a finding. Developer co-authored.
Hernandez et al. 2016, Nurse Education TodayPractice comparisonART, EMDR and CPT with case examplesCompares procedures; the cases are “not part of a formal study.”Author trains ART clinicians.
Hernandez et al. 2022, BMJ Military HealthConceptual reviewSpecial Operations veteransThemes drawn from earlier work. Not an outcome study.Authors disclosed ART training and advisory roles.
Howe, Rosenzweig & Shuman 2018, Innovations in Clinical NeuroscienceEthics commentaryOffering ART to patientsEthical reflections; discloses that Rosenzweig is ART’s developer.Developer co-authored.
Srivastava et al. 2025, Journal of Affective DisordersSystematic review30 randomized trials for prolonged grief disorderART (with music therapy) “revealed potential benefits but require further investigation.”Independent. ART is a small part of a broader review.
Rintoul et al. 2023, Frontiers in Pain ResearchScoping reviewChronic pain in homeless populationsMentions ART as a pain-management strategy, drawing on the homeless-veteran study.Not ART-specific evidence.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Registered trials with no results yet

Trial registries show what has been started, not just what has been published. Four completed ART trials have published their results (the 2013 veterans trial, the 2016 veterans cohort, the 2020 grief trial and the 2025 cancer pilot). These have not:

ART trials on ClinicalTrials.gov without published results (checked September 2026)
TrialDesign & whoNStatusWhy it matters
NCT03384706: CPT vs ART vs wait-list (Cincinnati VA / University of Cincinnati)Randomized comparison of ART with cognitive processing therapy, a first-line PTSD treatment.187Completed March 2021. No results posted and no peer-reviewed publication found.The only head-to-head trial of ART against a first-line therapy. Until it reports, no one can say how ART compares with CPT.
NCT05624879: ART for early maladaptive grief (Mayo Clinic)Double-blind randomized trial of ART vs an attention-matched social work condition, caregivers aged 60 and over, 4 sessions of 60 to 90 minutes. Protocol published 2025.440 (target)Recruiting; estimated completion March 2028.Much larger than any ART trial so far, with an active comparison. Same research network.
NCT04121884: neurophysiological mechanisms of ART (USF)Heart rate variability, EEG and sleep measures.40Status unknown; last updated 2019.No results available.
NCT03649607: ART for HIV-positive African, Caribbean and Black Canadians (Unity Health Toronto)Trial in a Toronto community population.40Status unknown; last updated 2019.No results available.
NCT03129204: SĀF-T for spouses of ICU patients (USF)Feasibility study of SĀF-T, a separate one-day technique from the ART developer’s training organization.10Completed 2018; no results posted.SĀF-T is not the ART clinical protocol.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

What has not been studied

Searches found no published trial comparing ART with prolonged exposure or with EMDR, and no published result comparing it with CPT. No published study has tested ART delivered by video; every trial was in person. There are no published full studies of ART in children or teenagers, first responders, birth trauma, phobias as a primary problem, moral injury, car accidents or substance use.

That is different from saying ART does not help with those things. It means that anyone who tells you ART is “proven” for them is going beyond the published evidence.

What the evidence adds up to

Read together, the studies say something fairly consistent. In people who received ART, self-reported PTSD symptoms usually fell substantially over a small number of sessions: study participants averaged roughly 3.5 to 4 sessions, with a range of 1 to 5. Most people who started finished. Side effects reported in the trials were uncommon and not serious, though they included temporary low mood, disturbed sleep, more anxiety and more nightmares.

What the studies cannot yet say is how ART compares with the trauma therapies that treatment guidelines recommend first, whether results hold up when a clinician rather than the participant rates the symptoms, and whether they replicate outside the research network that developed ART. Those are the questions the 2024 systematic review and the VA/DoD guideline point to, and they are why the VA/DoD guideline places ART in the “insufficient evidence” category rather than recommending it or recommending against it.

If you are weighing ART against another approach, that is a reasonable conversation to have with any trauma clinician. For many people, cognitive processing therapy, prolonged exposure or EMDR, which have much larger research bases, would be the natural first choice. How ART compares with other trauma therapies sets them side by side.

Questions people ask

How many randomized controlled trials of ART are there?

Two have published results: Kip et al. 2013 (57 service members and veterans, compared with an attention control) and Buck et al. 2020 (54 older bereaved caregivers, compared with a wait-list). A third, comparing ART with cognitive processing therapy, finished in 2021 but has not reported results. A larger grief trial at Mayo Clinic is recruiting.

Is Accelerated Resolution Therapy evidence-based?

It has promising early research, but the evidence is thin by the standards used for PTSD treatment guidelines. The only systematic review (2024) found five studies, could not run a meta-analysis, and called for more high-quality research. The VA/DoD guideline found insufficient evidence to recommend for or against it. See what the guidelines say.

Has ART been compared with EMDR or CPT?

Not in any published trial. A randomized trial comparing ART with cognitive processing therapy (NCT03384706) was completed in 2021, but no results have been posted or published as of September 2026. No trial comparing ART with EMDR or prolonged exposure was found. Claims that ART is faster or better than these therapies are not supported by published data.

Who funded and ran the ART research?

Most studies came from a University of South Florida program that began with Department of Defense funding, and many list ART’s developer, Laney Rosenzweig, as a co-author. Several later authors disclosed training clinicians for, or advising, ART organizations. One 2026 Canadian chart review and one small Iranian case study appear independent.

Why don’t you quote ART success rates?

Most published success figures count only people who finished treatment, use self-report questionnaires, and come from studies without a comparison group. Taken out of context they suggest more certainty than the research supports, so this page reports symptom-score changes and completion rates with their limits instead.

Sources

  1. Kip KE et al. (2013), Military Medicine: randomized controlled trial of ART for combat-related PTSD
  2. Kip KE et al. (2014), European Journal of Psychotraumatology: ART for pain secondary to combat-related PTSD
  3. Buck HG et al. (2020), American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine: RCT of ART for complicated grief
  4. Mason TM et al. (2022), Journal of Palliative Medicine: quality of life (grief trial)
  5. Mason TM et al. (2022), Journal of Gerontological Nursing: quality of life, mixed methods (grief trial)
  6. Mason TM et al. (2022), Death Studies: quality-of-life themes (grief trial)
  7. Buck HG et al. (2022), Health & Social Care in the Community: expectancy (grief trial)
  8. Buck HG et al. (2022), Western Journal of Nursing Research: dyadic loss (grief trial)
  9. Bell J et al. (2021), Clinical Nursing Research: salivary cortisol (grief trial)
  10. Kip KE et al. (2012), Behavioral Sciences: brief treatment of PTSD symptoms with ART
  11. Kip KE et al. (2013), Frontiers in Psychiatry: co-occurring PTSD and depressive symptoms
  12. Kip KE et al. (2015), Military Medicine: civilian vs military adults
  13. Kip KE et al. (2016), Nursing Outlook: veterans in a homeless shelter
  14. Pang T et al. (2023), Military Medicine: veterans with and without prior PTSD treatment
  15. Kip KE et al. (2019), Counselling and Psychotherapy Research: review and subgroup analyses — not indexed in PubMed
  16. Rossiter AG et al. (2017), Annals of Psychiatry and Mental Health 5(4): ART for military sexual trauma-related PTSD — not indexed in PubMed; details taken from the Storey 2024 systematic review
  17. Kip KE et al. (2016), Alternative and Complementary Therapies: pilot study for chronic neuropathic pain — not indexed in PubMed; not reviewed in full
  18. Tofthagen C et al. (2025), Psycho-Oncology: pilot study for cancer distress
  19. Rhudy LM et al. (2025), Clinical Nursing Research: patient perceptions (qualitative)
  20. Feldstain A et al. (2026), Counselling and Psychotherapy Research: ART in cancer care, nonrandomized — not indexed in PubMed
  21. Kip KE et al. (2014), Military Medicine: case report and theoretical description
  22. Toukolehto OT et al. (2020), Military Medicine: acute stress reactions during deployment
  23. Schimmels J, Waits W (2019), Military Medicine: two OCD case studies — corrigendum: PMID 30551197
  24. Hosseini K et al. (2024), Journal of Psychological Science: ART protocol for OCD — not indexed in PubMed
  25. Tofthagen C et al. (2022), Omega: complicated grief with PTSD, case discussions
  26. Buck HG et al. (2019), Innovation in Aging: two case studies (conference abstract)
  27. Tofthagen C et al. (2025), Journal of Palliative Medicine: insomnia, two case studies
  28. McMillan M, Cedermark KR (2025), JAACAP 64(10 Suppl): ART in children and adolescents (poster abstract) — content not verified
  29. Storey DP, Marriott ECS, Rash JA (2024), PLOS Mental Health: systematic review of ART for PTSD
  30. Psychological Health Center of Excellence (2019): Evidence Brief, ART for PTSD
  31. Waits W et al. (2017), Current Psychiatry Reports: ART review and research to date
  32. Kip KE, Diamond DM (2018), Military Medicine: rationale for ART in VA and DoD facilities
  33. Finnegan A et al. (2016), Journal of the Royal Army Medical Corps: narrative review
  34. Hernandez DF et al. (2016), Nurse Education Today: ART, EMDR and CPT compared
  35. Hernandez D et al. (2022), BMJ Military Health: Special Operations veterans
  36. Howe EG, Rosenzweig L, Shuman A (2018), Innovations in Clinical Neuroscience: ethical reflections
  37. Srivastava T et al. (2025), Journal of Affective Disorders: systematic review, prolonged grief disorder
  38. Rintoul K et al. (2023), Frontiers in Pain Research: scoping review, homelessness and chronic pain
  39. Tofthagen C et al. (2025), American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine: early maladaptive grief trial protocol (NCT05624879)
  40. ClinicalTrials.gov registrations NCT03384706, NCT05624879, NCT04121884, NCT03649607, NCT03129204, NCT01559688, NCT02030522, NCT03484338, NCT04436835 — registry checked September 2026

Next in The researchWhat treatment guidelines say about ART

Written and clinically reviewed by Jim Denning, MA, LPC. Last reviewed September 24, 2026.

We review health content at least once a year, and sooner when clinical guidance, fees, insurance, or crisis information changes. Tell us if something here looks wrong.

You don’t have to do this alone.

Healing is possible. Tell us a little about what is going on and Jim will get back to you.

CallGet started